Glen Beag Brochs
Located in a glen south of Glenelg, are two of the finest examples of brochs (early fortified circular stone houses) to be found on the Scottish Mainland. A third broch, Dun Grugaig, is a further two miles up the glen, though it is in a much poorer condition than the first two.
With their distinctive "cooling tower" shaped tapered walls, which have an inner and outer shell with floors of galleries formed from large slabs within, these are impressive structures dating back probably to the iron age (around 100BC).
The first one encountered up Glen Beag is Dun Telve and it is the better preserved of the two with a wall height of over 10m. Looking at its inner wall, it is possible to see an upper ledge, which may have supported a conical roof. Four galleries are visible in the cross section of the wall and there are voids in the inner wall, which may have been to allow in light or to ventilate the galleries
Dun Troddan stands further up the glen on the left side of the road. Much of the top of this broch, is believed to have been used in the construction of Bernera Barracks. Just inside the low entrance, on the left hand side is a small space, which may have been a guardroom. A similar room can be seen at Dun Telve but curiously it is on the opposite side of the entrance. A circle of postholes was discovered during excavation of this broch in 1920 and it is thought that the posts would have supported an upper gallery or even a roof. Again there are narrow ledges on the inner wall, which may have supported wooden floors within the broch.
These are unique and fascinating structures, which must have been at the time, amongst the largest structures in the British Isles.
The Kylerhea Straits are named after the Fingalian hero Reatha, who according to legend drowned while trying to vault the Kyle using his spear and thereafter gave the crossing its name.
Location: Dun Troddan 57.1954; -5.5872
Location: Dun Telve 57.1946; -5.5977